Our Mission

We represent non-partisan volunteer residents in neighborhoods throughout Indian River County with a common vision of pro-business and managed growth to preserve Indian River County's quality of life. We have no self interest, no land ownership or profit motives. Our solitary purpose is to protect our community for the enjoyment of future generations. The Indian River Neighborhood Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

The Threat...

In the past, the County Commission yielded to the development industry again and again.

At the height of the recession, thousands of those newly built homes sat empty, depressing the entire real estate market. Some developments were started back before 2008 and still sit empty with the skeleton of roads (and occasionally sidewalks) running through them.

Many of our fears from the early to mid 2000s proved to be true, development boomed and the population grew. But with the help of the IRNA, what made Indian River County special and unique did not change. However, in time, and without good growth management, our rural agricultural land will be transformed to housing and we will look like south Florida.

This kind of development is starting up again, as the economy recovers. The by-products of this rampant growth are more water shortages, traffic, pollution, crime, gangs, drugs, rising taxes and housing costs, and diminished farmland, habitat and quality of life.

The Solution...

In a democracy, the best solutions to community problems come from its citizens. The IRNA brings organization and expression to such solutions. We are the strong, clear voice for citizens who oppose the South-Floridazation of Indian River County.

The IRNA will continue to monitor growth and development issues, presenting factual and in-depth information to the public and our elected officials

We encourage you to click here to donate and to help us make sure we avoid the fate of South Florida here in Indian River County. We like the way things are here, and with your help we will fight to keep them this way.

Our Board of Directrors

Mark Bondy
Steve Boyle
Bob Bruce
Jean Catchpole
Bryan Corrigan
Graham Cox
Vic DeMattia
Vicky Gould
Tom Gruber
Buzz Herrmann
Joe Idlette III
Mike Johannsen, Chair
John Maher
Susan McDaniel
Joe Paladin
Frank Pizzichillo
Charlie Pope
Sam San Miguel
Ardra Rigby
Peter Seed
Herb Whittall